Law Society Awards

The Members of the Isle of Man Law Society have the opportunity to be considered for the following awards:

George Johnson Law Prize

This essay competition was established in memory of George Sayle Johnson Esquire, a past President of The Isle of Man Law Society, with the object of encouraging the study of law. An essay is written and sent into the First Deemster where he and a panel consisting of the Second Deemster, the Attorney General, the High Bailiff and the Vicar General adjudicate. However, on occasion the award has not been presented if the panel decided the essays submitted did not warrant the prize.

Former Prize Winners


2012 – Mark Emery

Mark Emery George Johnson Law Prize

2011 – John Aycock

2010 – Rachel Jepson

2009 – Paul Rodgers

2008 – Christopher Brooks

2004 – Melissa Warrilow


Deemster Kerruish Endeavour Award

D Kerruish Endeavor Award

The Deemster Kerruish Endeavour Award was created in 2010 in memory of much loved and respected First Deemster Michael Kerruish.  His principles of “Never give up and always do your best” are the key criteria for assessment of Advocates who have shown most endeavour, whether professionally or within the community, in the preceding year. The creation of this award was seen as a small way to mark the passing of such a significant man and all holders of the Award should be proud that their names will be associated with that of this highly respected First Deemster in the their annals.

Senior Partners in Isle of Man practices and the Society itself nominates Advocates. The  Award is determined by a panel constituted by Mrs Marianne Kerruish, Deemster Kerruish’s widow. Recipients are presented with magnificent illuminated manuscripts presented by esteemed local artist Colleen Corlett.

Former Prize Winners

2014- Jonathan Wild

2012- Sally Bolton

Sally Bolton- D Kerruish Endeavor Award

2011- Martin Moore

Martin Moore D Kerruish Endeavor Award